A -- a


Geography | Geology | Climate and meteorology


The Collserola Massif forms part of the central sector of the Serralada Litoral Catalana mountains. Its limits are highly precise: to the east, it borders on the River Besòs; to the west, on the River Llobregat; the Sant Cugat and Rubí creeks are its borders to the north; and the Barcelona plain indicates the southern limits of the massif.

The Serra de Collserola occupies an area of approximately 11,100 hectares (111,000,000 square metres), and is 17 kilometres long and 6 wide. Its relief is gentle and highly asymmetric: whilst the slopes on the Vallès side are long, descending gradually, its sea-facing sides are shorter and steeper.

Collserola straddles three counties or comarques: Baix Llobregat, Vallès Occidental and Barcelonès. The peak of Tibidabo, the highest point in the Serra at 512 metres, is the natural vertex that separates these three counties.


The Serra occupies part of the territory of the following nine townships:



Montcada i Reixac

Cerdanyola del Vallès

Sant Cugat del Vallès

El Papiol

Molins de Rei

Sant Feliu de Llobregat

Sant Just Desvern

Esplugues de Llobregat


The river system is extremely small. However, the great forest coverage and the impermeable nature of the rocks help the soil to retain water, which runs off slowly into the creeks. Due to these factors, there are considerable underground water resources in the Serra, emerging to the surface in a large number of fountains.


This water is distributed into three basins: the Llobregat, the Besòs and directly into the sea. The Llobregat River Basin, which is the largest in size, collects water from the western side of the Serra, the area between Sant Just Desvern and El Papiol. The most important creek is the Vallvidrera, the only practically permanent water course in these mountains.



The Besòs basin collects water from the northern and eastern slopes. Nearly all its mountain streams run into the Sant Cugat creek, which converges with the River Ripoll. Only a few small streams around Montcada and the Pla de Barcelona are tributaries of the River Besòs in their own right.


The water courses that collect on the slopes overlooking Barcelona enter the city’s sewage system and run down directly into the sea.

Consorci del Parc Natural de la Serra de Collserola
Ctra. de l'Església, 92. 08017 Barcelona. T: 932 803 552


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies and the installation of them